Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Who can blame me, it’s what I was taught. Thriving through science courses, it’s all I knew. I thought I had no reason to question it…no one asked. Just like so many people I love. No reason or care to question it. Some so adamant about its truth won’t even enter a conversation that has a “Christian” overtone. It may [gasp!] mess with evolution. But the truth is: I know how they feel, I was hung up on it too.

I was hung up hard on evolution. Skepticism was a by-product not half as attractive as it sounds. I distinctly remember sitting on the bed in Chandler’s dorm room one afternoon. Kelly and I both had huge biology textbooks open on our laps. And the questions came for hours.  Not all honest and curious, either.  Some were scathing and accusing – as if the chasm between the two beliefs was Chandler’s fault.

Why is it that we think: In order to understand Christ, we must allign with what we see as His “rules and regulations” before chummin’ up with Him? Who tells us these lies? I believed it.  Believed every word of it, and it made my humble path to understanding a messy pile of spiked hurdles. But let me share two quotations with you. The first is simple: “The church is a hospital for sinners, not a museum for saints”.  Cheesy, yes – but you act like all the folk in the hospital should be well. That they should be decidedly “nicer” and more “charitable” than you.  What a misunderstanding.

Do you believe that the messy, mistake-ridden Christians that you know are alright? Or are you sitting back with your arms folded, waiting for them to get it right, and choosing some other foggy belief over Jesus until you SEE them get it right with your own eyes? I know someone who’s sitting like this right now, waiting for me to figure it out. Good luck to both of us.

And here’s the other. Timothy Keller says, “What can we conclude? Since Christian believers occupy different positions on both the meaning of Genesis 1 and on the nature of evolution, those who are considering Christianity as a whole should not allow themselves to be distracted by this intramural debate. the skeptical inquirer does not need to accept any one of these positions in order to embrace the Christian faith. Rather, he or she should concentrate on and weigh the central claims of Christianity. Only after drawing conclusions about the person of Christ, the resurrection, and the central tenets of the Christian message should one think through the various options with regard to creation and evolution” (94).

Why have you let yourself be distracted?  Your search was courageous and true.

