Tags

, , , ,

The grocery store here in Colorado Springs is a Kroger-affiliate called King Soopers. Every time I drive past the sign, it bothers me that “Super” is misspelled with two oh’s and that it’s plural. Even with their struggling English, they have the best deals around. Being poor as I am, my resolve to buy only items on sale and nothing else certainly fits my budget.

The King Soopers card is like gold. 33 cents for a lemon to flavor my hot water and soothe my throat, 17 cents each for chicken flavored Ramen noodles, 40 cents for a normally 86 cent Campbell’s chicken soup on Mom’s urging, and a splurge on a 79 cent navel orange landed me at $1.88 – my cheapest King Soopers bill to date.

Being sick doesn’t exactly break the bank but it sure takes its toll. I’ve watched 4 ½ movies from the couch in my living room in my 10 most recent waking hours. Between more pains than I’m used to feeling, I sprawl out with frozen broccoli on my face, trying to soothe my headache which may have been caused by me grammatical grievance against King Super, or Soopers – whichever.

