Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Life is a learning process. We all have a different curve. You’ve learned things I’ll never know, or never figure out until I’m old and gross. Maybe I’ve already learned a thing or two that you’re not so sure about or that you don’t care about…yet.  This is something I’m learning about language and the like.

I’m the type of person that tries to use my words carefully. I value language and what it’s meant to communicate. I believe it should be wielded carefully and well. Still, I’m as subject as anyone to speak out of turn, out of ignorance, or out of line.

But as far as the language coming out of my mouth, things are not gay to me anymore.

Nicole Wick, a popular blogger, recently interviewed my friend Andy and reviewed his book. Andy’s ministry was the beginning of my curiosity about the GLBT community. And the end of gay as a slang term in my vocabulary.  I’m not too familiar with Nicole, but her review reminded me of how I began to further investigate my call to be a Christ-one as a result of knowing Andy as my peer and learning how he was living out this call. 

It’s my Biblical responsibility to stand behind an honest and developed vocabulary that tries to communicate, as clearly as possible, what I most desperately want to say.  I should always speak in order to be understood, and for this standard of clear communication, I believe I am accountable.  It’s my responsibility to lift up others, namely the Body of Christ, to encourage and affirm them so that they feel loved and supported.  It’s my responsibility to regularly re-evaluate the way I speak to ensure that no one is embarrassed, ashamed, insulted, put off, or hurt by the words I use and the way in which I use them.  Yep, I sure do believe I am accountable for those around me in this way. Words are not there for me to use as insults or in ignorance.  I cannot justify the negative connotation of how our culture uses gay. It’s not inconsequential; I’ve started to see the consequences myself and I’m beginning to find it quite unacceptable.

Herein lies my cessation of gay as slang.  I guess I just wanted you to know.

