Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My stand-in boss, my superior–unqualified for his title and nervous around me–his peon, employee, subordinate,  says to me during an informal review of sorts, though we don’t really have reviews of any kind at this restaurant, You have a great personality but I’d like to see it expressed more with the customers and less with the staff.

Within the parameters of my role, respecting his perceived authority, and with an intentionally even tone in my voice, I asked how he suggest I do that. He had no answer.

It was just a disguised way, I assume, to say Don’t have so much fun at this job with your friends. I said I’d try.  I never did try.  I did my job, met the marks, even exceeded in places, but I did not try this.  I did not turn my back where there was relationship to be built. 

The holidays are coming, and though I’ll soon begin to feel like I’m entertaining a multiple personality disorder between the Midwestern states of Illinois and Michigan, much of that time will be spent with men and women–now, my friends–I found while I was having too much fun carrying cocktails and charred cuts of cow to customers stuck in a revolving door of Chicago high life.  Never express less with the staff.

